Mission of the National Advisory Council

The National Advisory Council helps to steward relationships, fundraising ideas and new connections to help the Trust raise awareness and private funds for its mission to preserve and enhance the National Mall.

Council Composition

The National Advisory Council consists of a diverse group of supporters and influencers who represent a wide range of sectors and backgrounds. Council members may be former board members, former members of Congress, current elected officials, donors and key stakeholders. 

Sherrie Beckstead, Liljenquist & Beckstead

Rodney Cook, President, The National Monuments Foundation

The Hon. Thomas A. Daschle, Former Senate Majority Leader

John J. DeGioia, President, Georgetown University

Joseph G. Fogg, III*, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Westbury Partners

The Hon. Dirk Kempthorne*, Former Secretary of the Interior

John Hamre*

Linda Mays McCaul*

Hilda Ochoa-Brillembourg, President and CEO, Strategic Investment Group

Ned Powell, President and CEO at USO World Headquarters (Ret)

Francis Rooney*, United States Congressman (R-FL)

J. Rutherford Seydel, II*, Partner, Davis, Pickren, Seydel & Sneed, LLP

Thomas L. Stickland*, Partner, WilmerHale

David M. Velazquez*, President and CEO, Pepco Holdings, Inc.

The Hon. Tim Wirth*

Revised October 2018

*Former Member of the Board